• facebook
  • twitter

History & Key Facts

Posted in Overview

Formerly, known as The Alhaji Sir Abubakar Tafawa Balewa Memorial Trust, it was established in 1968 by members of the Britain-Nigeria Association to honour and perpetuate the memory of the late Prime Minister of Nigeria. The assets and continuation of existing activities of that Trust migrated to BNET on December 31, 2007.

The Britain-Nigeria Educational Trust itself was formed on May 31st 2007 and was registered as a charity, number 1120876,  on September 17, 2007.  It is governed by its Constitution as approved by the Charity Commission on September 4, 2007 

Now with the benefit of nearly fifty years experience, the Trust continues to promote friendship and understanding between the UK and Nigeria by providing financial support for the advancement of education in Nigeria.

The Chairman's InvestitureIn recognition of his services to the Trust, Mr Derek Reeves, MBE (Chairman 24 November 1994 to 4 November 2014 and a Trustee since 1986) was awarded an MBE, which he received from Prince Charles at Buckingham Palace on February 27, 2009. 





The Trust is a non-political and non-sectarian membership charity managed by a Board of Trustees who meet at least three times a year.

The total amount spent on educational projects between 1999 and 2014 was £1,077,156.  A summary of those grants and a brief commentary on their purpose may be viewed here.